English | Dzongkha Saturday, May 30, 2020

Tensung FC wins the first edition of Thimphu League 2019

Sep 20, 2019

Tensung FC has been crowned the champions of the first edition of Thimphu League 2019. They defeated FC Takin 2-0 in the finals played yesterday. With the win, Tensung FC is now promoted to the Second Division Competition, Bhutan Super League which will be played next year.

Overcoming several teams in the group stages of the competition, Tensung FC and FC Takin went head to head at the finals at the Changlimithang stadium to fight for the spot in the Second Division League.

From the first blow of the referee’s whistle, both the teams began to press high as they tried to find the back of the net as early as possible. However, none of them succeeded with both the teams failing to break the deadlock.

The deadlock was finally broken in the 47th minute of the first half as Tensung FC’s Gaki Penjor’s cross from the right flank proved beyond reachable for the opponent’s goalkeeper. The first half ended 1 nil.

Taking advantage of the lead, Tensung FC began to control the game as they proved strong at the back and were found much composed in possession. However, FC Takin almost made a comeback to the game when this attempt from FC Takin’s striker was saved by the goalie and cleared off by the Tensung defender.

In their desperate attempt to make a comeback into the game, FC Takin gave all their best and even came very close to equalize several times but was not successful.

To make it worst, Tensung FC further extended their lead by 2 goals as Nima headed in a cross made by Gaki Penjor.

Stunned by the goal, FC Takin failed to bounce back into the game.

Being the champions, Tensung FC is now promoted to the second division league, Bhutan Super League from Thimphu district. Likewise winning the Phuntshogling League, College of Science and Technology will also make their debut appearance in the Bhutan Super League.

Punakha and Paro districts are yet to conduct the tournament in their respective region. 5 bottom teams from the current ongoing Bhutan Premiere League and 4 top teams from Thimphu, Paro, Punakha and Phuntshogling will take part in the second division league which will be played next year.

However, Bhutan Football Federation is planning to take in 10 teams for the 2nd edition of the competition next year. They are currently looking into the matter.

Passang Dorji

Leave a Reply

3 × = twenty one

Copyright © 2020 BBSC.