12 teams compete for basketball’s A-League Championship

The Basketball Federation of Bhutan’s A-League Championship tipped off in the capital on Thursday. In the opening match, the Pazaps defeated the Phojas. The country’s top basketball league resumed after a two-year gap.

In the second match of the opening day, 2022 A-League winner Jachungs and second position holder Zhoems faced off.

The Zhoems kept the Jachungs at bay with their upbeat performance, pleasing the crowd gathered at the indoor basketball court. Zhoems went on to defeat the reigning champions with a score of 105 to 72.

Twelve teams are competing for the championship title.

“Before organising the A-League, we hold a B-League tournament to select the two best teams. Including these two teams from the B-League, we have a total of 12 teams,” said Nima Gyeltshen, FIBA Coach/Referee of Basketball Federation of Bhutan.

The two-month tournament will see each team playing against the others twice.

“For the playoffs, we will select the top eight teams. After choosing the top eight teams, we will organise a best-of-three competition, and the top two will compete in the finals,” added Nima Gyeltshen.

On day two of the championship, yesterday, Thimphu Magics defeated Delinquents by five and a half baskets, and Blue Magics defeated Garabs 92-74.

The Basketball Federation of Bhutan is organising the championship in collaboration with VEVS Global, and Australia’s Curtin University and Curtin College.

Karma Wangdi

Edited by Sherub Dorji 

Top Stories

Related Stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Comments