Samtse nominates eight candidates for NC Elections


Samtse will have eight candidates contesting for the upcoming National Council Elections. A total of ten aspiring candidates including a woman, from seven gewogs, contested during the Dhamngoi Zomdu which ended earlier this month. The poll day for the National Council Elections is scheduled for the 20th of next month.

In Dophuchen Gewog, Tashi Dendup from Dogap is the nominee. The 43-year-old secured 755 votes against his opponent, Chhatrapati Phuyel from Aringang, who got 128 votes.

From Duenchhukha Gewog, 41-year-old Pol Prasad Chapagai is the lone aspiring candidate. He was nominated after securing 169 yes against 39 no votes. He is from Gabji village.

And in Norbugang Gewog, 38-year-old Subash Sharma secured 375 yes and 31 no votes. He is from Gangtosa village.

37-year-old Ngawang Tshering from Tshachhu will contest from Norgaygang Gewog. He secured 620 votes against the only female aspirant, Amina Gurung from Miphelgang who got 341 votes.

Meanwhile, voters in Pemaling Gewog chose 37-year-old Kumar Ghalley from Norgyeling. He secured 285 yes and 78 no votes.

Chungdu Tshering from Khandothang will contest from Samtse Gewog. The 41-year-old secured 136 yes and 78 no votes.

From Samtse Throm, Til Chand Sharma got selected with 71 yes and nine no votes.

Samir Giri from Sipsu is the nominee from Tashichhoeling Gewog. The 45-year-old secured 247 yes and 136 no votes.

Meanwhile, the eight gewogs of Dumtoed, Namgyalchhoeling, Tendu, Ugyentse, Yoeseltse, Sang-Ngag-Chhoeling, Tading and Phuentshogpelri did not have any aspiring candidates during the Dhamngoi Zomdu.

Over 4,600 voters turned up for the Dhamngoi Zomdu in Samtse.

Passang Dorji, Samtse

Edited by Tshering Zam

Top Stories

Related Stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Comments