English | Dzongkha Wednesday, September 23, 2020

DPT holds first national convention

Apr 28, 2013

DPT--Party-ConventionAt the Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) national convention held in the capital, today, the party revealed 42 candidates who will be contesting in the upcoming elections.

Revealing the candidates at the convention, the Economic Affairs Minister, Khandu Wangchuk, added that although the party has confirmed all their candidates, five are not being revealed due to procedural rules.

Eight new candidates of DPT were announced at the convention: Gyembo Tshering is the new face from Bardo- Tong constituency in Zhemgang. He will be replacing former MP Tshering Dorji.

Rinzin Jamtsho will contest from Kengkhar-Weringla constituency in Monggar replacing former MP Sonam Penjor.

From Sergithang-Tsirang Toed, Uday Chandra Bandari is DPT’s contestant instead of Nar Bahadur Gurung. Dorji Khandu is the candidate from Khatoed-Laya constituency in Gasa.

The Foreign Minister, Ugyen Tshering, will be replaced by Kinga Tshering from North Thimphu Thromde.

Haa Dzongkhag’s constituencies will see new representation as well. From Haa, Sombaykha Constituency, it is Dago Tshering, and Dasho Dr. Gado Tshering will contest from Bji-Kar-Tshog-Uesu constituency instead of former MP Ugyen Tenzin.

Rebecca Gurung will represent Phuentshogpelri-Samtse constituency instead of former MP Prahlad Gurung.

The convention today also elected Prime Minister Jigmi Y Thinley as the party president. The Agriculture Minister Dr Pema Gyamtsho, former MPs Sonam Penjor of Kengkhar-Weringla and Karma Lhamo of Monggar, and Sangay Thinley from Gasa have been elected as vice-presidents of the party.

3 Comments for “DPT holds first national convention”

  1. common man

    Are they still PM and ministers???
    If yes .. how?
    If No.. why is JYT called PM.

  2. pema

    it could have been better if they have elected some other lenpo as a leader of DPT. But anyways all the best

  3. Saptashi

    BBS should b careful when it comes to adressing….In the dzongkha neas They are refering PM as Loyenchen…and OL as `hemagi’ docho gothrip….R all the palametarians nt same?

Leave a Reply

nine − = 7

Copyright © 2020 BBSC.