English | Dzongkha Wednesday, June 26, 2019

National cricket team leaves for Malaysia ahead of ICC World T20 Asia ‘B’ qualifier

Sherub Dorji, Thimphu
Oct 1, 2018

National senior men’s cricket team at a training session

The national cricket team left for Malaysia today to take part in the ICC World T20 Asia ‘B’ qualifier. The tournament is a pathway to the 2020 ICC Twenty20 World Cup.

This is the first tournament for the senior men’s team after winning the Asian Cricket Council Eastern Region Cup in Thailand in February.

The team has been preparing for the qualifiers for over two months.

Nepal, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, and Myanmar are among the seven participating teams besides Bhutan and host nation Malaysia.

Bhutan will play against Malaysia day after tomorrow in its opening match.

In a round robin format, each team will play against each other once.

The top three teams from these two qualifiers will advance to the regional finals to determine the two Asian teams going into the 2020 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier.

Leave a Reply


− 2 = three

Copyright © 2019 BBSC.