English | Dzongkha Saturday, February 23, 2019

Defending champions Sarpang Strikers wins Women’s T20 cricket championship

Passang Dorji, Thimphu
Jul 11, 2018

The defending champions, Sarpang Strikers, has again emerged as the winner of the Bhutan Cricket Council Board (BCCB) Women’s T20 Club Championship. In the finals played yesterday, they defeated Dragon Strikers by 51 runs.

Sarpang strikers won the toss and opted to bat first. They managed to set up an impressive target of 139 runs in the first inning.

With the motive to overcome the target set up by the defending champions, Dragon strikers tried to bounce back and keep their hopes alive.

However, Dragon strikers lost both the opening batswomen early in the second innings. Dechen and Tashi Lhaden then tried their best to bring back the lost hope, but were not successful with Dechen bowled out in the eight over for just 21 runs.

This was followed by a series of wickets for Sarpang Strikers as they won the match by bowling all out within the 16th over.

Four teams from Thimphu, Sarpang and Punakha took part in the competition.

The winners and the runners up were awarded medals, trophies and cash prizes.

The 2nd edition of the BCCB Women’s T20 Club Championship was organized with the motive to encourage women’s participation in the sport.

Leave a Reply


− 7 = one

Copyright © 2019 BBSC.